Diese Website existiert nur weil wir Werbung mit AdSense ausliefern.
Bitte den AdBlocker daher auf dieser Website ausschalten! Danke.

GCTour

Der Schmiermaxe pimpt die Geocaching-Website.

Moderator: UF aus LD

andrixnet
Geonewbie
Beiträge: 9
Registriert: Mo 23. Mai 2016, 09:33

Re: GCTour

Beitrag von andrixnet »

How can we update the cache type icons in GC_Tour to the new icons?
AFAIK the new icons are "symbols" in a single SVG file and the website proper uses this trick to select the image:

<svg class="icon cache-icon" role="presentation">
<use xlink:href="/app/ui-icons/sprites/cache-types.svg#icon-2">
</svg>
Die Batzen
Geocacher
Beiträge: 198
Registriert: Fr 21. Okt 2011, 10:54

Re: GCTour

Beitrag von Die Batzen »

Hi andrixnet,

it would surely be doable.
Question is what the benefit would be in comparison to the work to be done.

Unfortunately it's not simply replacing addresses in image links, there's more to it.
Moreover, the GCTour server would require these icon updates, too. Thus, we would have to touch two different code bases.

All in all quite some work to be done just for updating the icons (which still work perfectly fine).
Long story short, I would rather not implement that.

Thanks for understanding.

Best regards,
Thomas
jhfjsgkshfsdg1
Geocacher
Beiträge: 14
Registriert: Mo 15. Jul 2019, 14:05

Re: GCTour

Beitrag von jhfjsgkshfsdg1 »

There appears to be some issue with caches that have own logs OTHER THAN "Found".

For example, if I have a DNF log on a cache, and I download it with GCTour, and I import the GPX into either Garmin Basecamp or into c:geo, the cache shows up as found ("Found" icon in Basecamp, "Found" status in c:geo).

EDIT: To investigate further, I chose a cache on which I had logged a DNF log. I then did two things:

(a) I downloaded it as GPX using Groud$peak's GPX download function. The resulting GPX file contains

Code: Alles auswählen

<sym>Geocache</sym>
(b) I added the same cache to a GCTour, and downloaded the GPX. The resulting GPX file contains

Code: Alles auswählen

<sym>Geocache Found</sym>
Die Batzen
Geocacher
Beiträge: 198
Registriert: Fr 21. Okt 2011, 10:54

Re: GCTour

Beitrag von Die Batzen »

Hi jhfjsgkshfsdg1,

good catch!
It seems that this bug has been introduced by a website change in the past and remained undiscovered for some time now.

A fix will be available in the next version.

Thanks for the detailed and very helpful description,
Thomas
Antworten